I guess Stanford doesn’t get a lot of applicants from Gush

Two weeks ago, I finally submitted my application to a few law schools. Finally, I can relax.

Wrong.

Dear Mordechai,

We noticed from your application that you attended Yeshivat Har Etzion.  However, we have not received transcripts for your time at this school.  Therefore, the study abroad transcript requirement was left incomplete.  Please have the school submit the transcript to LSAC as soon as possible.

Please let us know if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Stanford Law School
Office of Admissions

After I tried to explain that I attended this institution prior to college, received no credit for it, that it doesn’t offer transcripts, or even courses and grades in the sense Stanford might be looking for, so please feel free to get on with my application since I’m already pretty late to the whole admissions cycle, this landed in my inbox:

Dear Mordechai,

Thank you for the clarification of the program.  We would still like for you to have the school submit an official letter of your enrollment and description of the program that you completed. Please have the school submit this directly to our office as soon as possible. Although this is not a study abroad program, we will continue to leave this requirement incomplete on your online status checker until the official enrollment letter is received.

Sincerely,

Stanford Law School
Office of Admissions

Fair enough, though I will note that not a single other school to which I applied is (as of yet) interested in my post-high school gap year.

On the bright side, at least I know the Admissions office is taking the time to read my application.

One thought on “I guess Stanford doesn’t get a lot of applicants from Gush”

Leave a Reply

