This will hopefully clear up any residual confusion over the 2011 Street Sex Survey

It’s been one whole post since I could tag something sex, so heading back to the well.

My post yesterday on the 2011 Street Sex Survey accused said publication of gross graphic misrepresentation, but I did not feel it was necessary to provide specifics. I was wrong. A bit of a back-and-forth ensued in the comments section and the exchange made me realize my attitude [“if you can’t figure it out, ask the most nonjudgmental friend you have (i.e. not me) for some more help”] may not have helped the moderately befuddled.

That said, I still can’t bring myself to describe what I took issue with using words (though two of the commenters managed to do so quite nicely), so I have instead sketched what I would consider a non-objectionable alternative:

Please note I was careful to describe this graph as ‘what I would consider a non-objectionable alternative’ – if you are less interested in the accurate graphical representation of statistical information than in the use of clever infographics, I could understand why you might choose to eschew a representation so nicely suited to the items noted along the x-axis.

But I think that might be giving Street too much credit.

One thought on “This will hopefully clear up any residual confusion over the 2011 Street Sex Survey”

Leave a Reply

