On Drugs and Spring Fling

I don’t usually write about every time I come across an entertaining Twitter account, but I draw this one to your attention primarily for the sake of the article it brought to my attention:

The article is, as you might imagine, about drug use at Fling, and contains a few quotes from students trying to decide whether to use Molly (“the street name for pure MDMA, also known as ecstasy”) to enhance their experience this Friday night.

My favorite came from “a Wharton freshman who said he could obtain Molly from a brother in his fraternity [but] is on the fence about trying it for the first time.”

I don’t want to wake up and not know where I am or how I got there. I can do that with alcohol, but ecstasy is something very different. It’s kind of a leap. Plus it’s illegal.

OK, two things I feel I shouldn’t really have to point out:

One, it’s nice that you’re concerned about the legality of your drug of choice, but I’m gonna go out on a limb and speculate that as a Wharton freshman who rushed a fraternity, there’s a good chance alcohol is illegal for you as well. And two, it’s probably never really a great idea to wake up and not know where you are or how you got there, whether because of alcohol, ecstasy, or a blunt instrument.

Still waiting for the hard-hitting DP coverage of whether ecstacy is kosher for Passover.

3 thoughts on “On Drugs and Spring Fling”

Leave a Reply

