Seattle, you have let me down

I’m still trying to figure out how to deal with the fact that a) I am a native of Seattle, and b) I make no secret of the fact that orange is my favorite color, yet it took 24+ years for me to find out that the Space Needle was originally bright orange:

OK, technically the color is ‘Galaxy Gold‘, but then again, it is the Space Needle, so I suppose that chromatic confusion is understandable for the sake of artificial alliteration.

Fortunately, I’ll have a chance to see the orange needle for myself when I go home in two weeks for a short visit – since the color is coming back in celebration of the needle’s 50th anniversary:

Maybe I’ll even take the opportunity to go up for the first time.

Just kidding, I really am from Seattle.

6 thoughts on “Seattle, you have let me down”

Leave a Reply

