Verizon: Stop playing that goddamn Mother’s Day ad

I’m sure you’ve seen it:

And I know that because it’s inescapable. It literally cannot be escaped. It comes on during every single goddamn commercial break of every single goddamn show. Do you know what a letdown it is to go from The Daily Show – which is, if you don’t know, funny and enjoyable – to something that makes me believe there is no more humor and no more joy left in this world? Probably, because I’m sure it’s happened to you.

It’s gotten to the point where I can understand every goddamn line of goddamn sniveling without even reading the subtitles. Enough is enough.

Verizon advertises a lot, and this is not the first time I’ve complained about that habit. But this is the first time I’ve been inspired to take action. You see, most ads are boring and repetitive and inspire, at the very least, brand awareness.

But there is such a thing as too much brand awareness. For instance, I am now aware that the price of a Droid Razr has dropped to $100 (I assume because nobody wants to buy one after seeing this ad). I am also aware that I would never buy one, and that Verizon – largest 4G LTE network be damned (I hate when this advertising works) – needs to stop running these ads.

So I’ve decided to do something about it. And like everyone else who wants to do something, I created a petition using Change.org, and filed it under ‘Women’s Rights’.

The website assures me:

You’ve just taken a powerful step toward making a change!

But I can’t do it without you. So please take a moment to sign the petition and let Verizon know – the time to Let My Viewers Go is finally upon us. And then take another moment to share it with everybody you know:

https://www.change.org/petitions/verizon-wireless-stop-playing-your-goddamn-mother-s-day-ad-for-razr

Amen.

17 thoughts on “Verizon: Stop playing that goddamn Mother’s Day ad”

  1. Poor Mordechai Treiger just wants to watch Daily Show – that’s all. Unfortunately, we “petty advertisers” are trying to prevent him from doing so by requiring that he sit through a few ads…

    Like

  2. I have never commented on a commercial before but this one is so awful, insulting, annoying, I just had to say how much I absolute hate this commercial and find it incredibly insulting to wards women as stupid, sappy, idiots who cry over 4.2 miles. Worst commercial ever!!!! I will never buy a droid ever and you ad agency sucks!

    Like

  3. Mordechai, if you’ve ever read my blog, you know that tilting at windmills is probably my favorite pastime. It’s very rare for me to get the urge to ask someone, especially someone engaging in this honorable pursuit, “Don’t you have anything better to do?” but I can’t help but feel the question is appropriate in this case. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

