Supreme Court decision to uphold Obamacare undermines US Citizenship test

One of my favorite parts of being online abroad is the constant reminder of how lucky I am to have been born in the United States. My browser is subjected to a steady barrage of advertisements targeting individuals who would be happy to take my place:

But I also know that my citizenship is simply an accident of my birth. So when I noticed a US Citizenship test on the Christian Science Monitor website, I thought it would be fun to give it a spin. If I could pass a citizenship test, then I’d know I could have been an American no matter where I was born [Quiet, you. This constitutes unassailable logic.]:

The introduction reads:

Applicants must get 6 answers out of 10 in an oral exam to pass the test. According to US Citizenship and Immigration services, 92 percent of applicants pass this test.

You must get 58 or more of these test questions correct in order to pass.

I expected to cruise through, but ran into some trouble on question 35:

To be fair, I answered by process of elimination: I knew the Department of Homeland Security was new – a product of this post-9/11 world – so I ruled out A without giving it much thought.

No matter. I cruised to 58/59 and earned my US citizenship. I was rather proud of my accomplishment, but a little disappointed that the quiz ended without fanfare: no certificate of accomplishment, no falling balloons. At least I wasn’t assigned a new last name, because that could have deeply complicated the identity of this blog. Here was that decisive final question:

But one other question gave me some trouble; I thought it was inappropriate to ask prospective citizens to keep up to date on the economic policies of the current administration:

The – officially – ‘correct’ answer is ‘c) capitalist’.

As of yesterday’s Supreme Court ruling to uphold the individual mandate – and socialized medicine – potential immigrants might be forgiven for selecting either b) or d).

That’s it: I’m moving to Canada.

One thought on “Supreme Court decision to uphold Obamacare undermines US Citizenship test”

Leave a Reply

