Look, I made my own Admiral Ackbar joke

Join me, as I continue my epic journey through old print material. My latest adventure is drawn from the Science Times published May 1 of this year; more specifically, from an article entitled Life in the Sea Found Its Fate in a Paroxysm of Extinction. The article’s content is actually quite worrisome, but discussing its actual content is not the purpose of this post, so I encourage you to read it on your own time.

Meanwhile, I would like to call your attention to a single paragraph about midway through:

Scientists suspect that the answer lies in the biggest volcanic event of the past 500 million years — the eruptions that formed the Siberian Traps, the stairlike hilly region in northern Russia.

A stairlike hilly region called the Traps? And I’ve never heard of it? (I imagine you can see where this is going – my apologies):

I feel fairly confident claiming ‘First!’, given that I scoured the internet for all known iterations of Admiral Ackbar jokes. Here are a few of my favorites/representative samples:

2 thoughts on “Look, I made my own Admiral Ackbar joke”

Leave a Reply

