Hulu is a liar. And pathetic. And alone in life. And mean. And mean. And mean.

My first semester ended at 4PM yesterday. By 6:40, I was all caught up on Stewart and Colbert — for the first time all semester. Yes, I watched every episode of the two shows over the course of the semester. No, it is not easy to keep up with the telly while school is in session. Over the past four months, I’ve been within one week of catching up only twice.

Which is why I rely on Hulu for a little bit of a cushion with my other shows. In theory, the five most-recent episodes of Parks and Recreation are available for free. In practice, not so much:

Hulus dirty lying

The text inside the green circle clearly states that five episodes of Parks & Rec are available at a time. The colored numbers indicate whether or not those episodes are, indeed, available for free. As you can see, they only go to up to 4 (#s 5 and 6 both have the little green Hulu+ requirement in the upper left-hand corner).

Jerry!

Contrast that with The Office, which is thankfully able to count:

Hulus sometimes not lying

My guess is they didn’t leave Kevin in charge of the counting.

Listen, I know you can find any and all of this stuff online with no time restrictions and ad-free (including, in this particular instance, NBC’s own website). But I’m also more than happy to support the shows by watching them through legal channels — just not TV channels. I would just appreciate a little more accountability.

And now, I have a few weeks to catch up on Season 2 of Homeland.

One thought on “Hulu is a liar. And pathetic. And alone in life. And mean. And mean. And mean.”

Leave a Reply

