Stop and Shop went to some amount of trouble to save a little paper and ink

Yesterday’s post was about an article in the Daily Pennsylvanian. Earlier today I wrote another one linking the Daily Pennsylvanian to a grocery store. And now, I’m going to just write about a grocery store. I guess the thought is maybe I’ll get through everything I want to write if I just do it sequentially.

Two and a half weeks ago, I stopped by Stop & Shop to shop. Some photographs, for your consideration:

WP_20130218_006

WP_20130218_005

WP_20130218_004

WP_20130218_003

If you looked closely at that last picture you might have noticed that it’s different from the preceding three in that it has the word “Save!” inside a yellow circle where the earlier ones include dollar amounts inside a yellow circle. And based on that evidence, you might have assumed that this post is meant to draw your attention to the fact that the price of red peppers with a Stop & Shop card is exactly the same as the price of red peppers without a Stop & Shop card and this is all just a scam.

That would have been a very astute observation. But it also would have ignored the clue I provided in the subject of this post. This post clearly has something to do with recycling. Pricing scams have very little to do with recycling. So let’s try again: what the hell do these four signs have to do with recycling? Well, take a look at when each price is “good thru”:

12/27/12
1/10/13
2/21/13
1/17/13

According to the timestamp on these photos, they were all taken on February 18, meaning that — according to their expiration dates — only one out of these four sale prices was current at the time these pictures were taken. Of course, Stop & Shop gave me the correct price (because if it hadn’t, I would be entitled to a refund per company policy — a policy I can attest is actually honored), which means that the expiration dates are not actually all that controlling.

Which leaves me to conclude that rather than printing out new Weekly Special cards every week, Stop & Shop decided to reuse them and save itself a lot of cardboard. Kudos.

Now if only they’d stop wrapping borderline-rotten fruit in cling wrap and trying to pass it off as edible. At least cut the plastic.

2 thoughts on “Stop and Shop went to some amount of trouble to save a little paper and ink”

  1. A millon years ago (ok 20) I worked for a retail establishment and was given the job of sign-printer. My boss said the paper and ink are really fucking expensive, so don’t make type o’s. That offended me, (I don’t make type o’s, let alone PRINT them) so I figured out a way to recycle them, save money, be a super-duper-sign-printer/employee of the month contender…. No one noticed. Until now….

    Like

Leave a Reply

