One analyst hilariously misses the point, so let me try to help him out

First Take, shortly after the Superbowl [excerpted below]:

Skip, you started out on a promising note:

I was dead wrong about this game. I had Denver, the favorite, winning a close, low-scoring game. Forty three to eight? Are you kidding me? So, my big-picture take-away is that . . .

So far, so good. Go on…

. . . my big-picture take-away is that on a night that was made outdoors, in New Jersey, in February, for Peyton Manning — almost fifty degrees at kickoff! — and with today’s rules, obviously, favoring the offense to score nothing but point after point after point, that Seattle defense shocked me by making a case, making a statement, and we will debate this a little later in the show, that it should be the unit considered for all-time greatness, because it didn’t just dominate Peyton Manning & Company, I thought it basically bullied Peyton Manning & Company . . .

But I’m gonna have to stop you there. Yes, everything you just said is basically true, but I don’t know that it’s the big-picture take-away anyone was looking for. But you were so close, so let’s try this again, from the top:

I was dead wrong about this game. I had Denver, the favorite, winning a close, low-scoring game. Forty three to eight? Are you kidding me? So, my big-picture take-away is that I am completely unqualified to offer predictions ever, under any circumstances, about anything, about anyone, for any reason, ever, no matter what, no matter where, or who or who I am with, or where I am going, or where I’ve been. Ever. For any reason. Whatsoever.

Also, Richard Sherman is better at life than me.

One thought on “One analyst hilariously misses the point, so let me try to help him out”

Leave a Reply

